LXXXVII.

I think you secretly love your phone, my friend said to me yesterday.

I do, I said, but I secretly hate it, too.

It’s one of those phones – not that phone, but a phone like that phone.

It’s supposed to help me stay connected, stay organized, stay occupied. It makes me feel, sometimes, alone, disappointed, and like my priorities are all wrong. I feel like I react to the phone. It should be a tool for me to use, but it changes my behavior.

Some people are trying to have just a hundred things. Think about this if you’re even slightly drawn to it and observe the battle that starts in your head.

Leave a Reply

