LXVI.

Lately, all I want to do is decorate, and throw dinner parties. Really.

Never mind that my intuition for decorating is about on a par with my soccer skills (but I scored a goal yesterday! so maybe this time I will get things looking nice).

I want deep, rich colors for winter; I have lovely light green and robin’s egg placemats and matching taper candleholders but those ought to be retired now in favor of scarlet or ruby, turquoise, chocolate.

I am in search of a few serving platters, an end table that will hide a litterbox, a table lamp to sit on the end table. I wandered around Crate & Barrel tonight just taking in tall bookshelves and glass-doored cabinets, a bamboo bedside stand, bright batik-y duvet covers and lighter, Japanese-inspired duvet covers with a pattern of pale silver leaves. Two-tiered serving dishes, dishes with three small square compartments, trestle desks.

A cozy little home in a village surrounded by all my friends on an island just a ferryboat ride away from the big city… wouldn’t that be perfect?

Dear god.

Leave a Reply

