XLVII.

Teaching, I’d come home with aching feet.  Filling a basin with warm water and just soaking my tired toes for a few minutes suddenly seemed like a good idea, rather than something old people do.  I was usually too busy to actually do it.

One thing I didn’t anticipate about the move to a writing career is that it is, in its own way, physically exhausting.  Sitting all day, even with an alarm set to remind me to stretch my arms, leaves me tired and stiff.  At least in teaching, I knew I’d been up, moving around, doing my body some good even as I wore myself out.  On the days when I write for hours, I feel like I need to uncurl myself, my body longs to move.

One Response to “XLVII.”

  1. Sheerah Says:

    what have you been writing?

Leave a Reply

