XXV.

I want to create a sort of experiential dictionary for myself. I don’t know the names for things. Fedora, taffeta, tulle, primrose, hickory, wingtip, muu-muu.  I know the names but I don’t know the things.  I need to teach myself whole constellations of description to navigate the writing I want to do. I need to smell spices and write down the feelings and colors of their flavors. I need to touch fabrics and see the grain of each freshly-cut board. I need to record the shape of hats of all kinds. I need to know a Brooks Brothers suit from another kind of suit (see, I can only name one!). Cars. Tools. Houses. Shoes. Breeds of dog. Styles of jazz.

Leave a Reply

