CIII.

Jose Vilson on the difference between talking and speaking, and why it matters:

Very few speak.

Today, she spoke.

And that’s why we as educators learn how to develop our voices, because people like her need it. This isn’t just about educators, though. It’s about anyone who would like to be heard. It’s not about the volume, though that helps. It’s about that wonderful balance between precision and accuracy with a touch of humanity.

I hear myself talking to kids all day long. This will be on the quiz. Stay in your seat. Raise your hand. Be on time.

But to speak – that’s when you say that one single thing that a child hears, remembers, the thing that makes them act or think.

One Response to “CIII.”

  1. Yesterday I returned to the (very full) classroom again after not teaching much for almost a year. I talked til I was hoarse, the boring stuff. I can tell when I shift into speaking: I my voice wavers, I search for the best words, I’m unhappy with my failure to really convey my thoughts. But I later hope that failure is when I’m succeeding.
    A woman with pink hair stayed after class to tell me that she’d passed my previous course but failed all her others. Her husband had kicked her out. In a way, art history kept her sane.
    Am glad to read you again.
    K

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

